Recipe Review: The Pioneer Woman’s Chocolate Sheet Cake

First, if you haven’t already, you NEED to go and buy The Pioneer Woman cookbook. It’s okay, I will wait.

Okay now that that’s done, onto the review.

I think that’s all I need to say, isn’ t it?

But I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t run on, so here we go.

This cake was ridiculously easy to make. I will not be buying chocolate cake mix anymore. Sorry Betty Crocker and Duncan Hines. It is worth the entire box of butter you need to make it and more. I was not going to put the pecans in the icing, because I just wasn’t. But I was lazy and I did not sift the powdered sugar before making the icing. So there were going to be lumps. So I put the pecans in to hide the lumps and it worked like a charm.

The icing firms up a bit and it is like having a layer of fudge on top of moist buttery cake.  It is soooooooo good. The icing is also easy to make, especially if you are going to put the pecans in. If you feel like omitting the nuts, make sure you sift the sugar. One thing about this though, it tends to get a little messy.

But that’s okay. It is a small price to pay for a large sheet cake of heaven. By the way, it is DIVINE with whipped cream on top. I am normally a purist, but oh my word!!! The whipped cream is just even more heavenly.

Don’t mind my kitchen gnome…

Lucy is just bitter that she did not get any cake.

One response to “Recipe Review: The Pioneer Woman’s Chocolate Sheet Cake

  1. I have the cookbook, and am totally going to try this one!! I know the recipe is on her blog, and am actually amazed at myself that I haven’t tried it yet!

Leave a comment