Gingerbread Eggnog Trifle

Eggnog Gingerberad Trifle Did you know that I don’t like Eggnog? I can’t stand the stuff. My husband loves it and I have to buy him a quart once a week or so during the holiday season. If I bring him home some Eggnog Ice cream, I am wife of the year.

So one day when I had a LOT of egg nog leftover and I had to make dessert for some occasion, I thought, “Well I won’t have to eat it, why not make it with egg nog?” I have never seen my trifle dish empty so fast!!! People were swiping the inside of the trifle bowl with their fingers and licking off the remains when it was empty. I figured I should make it again and I tried it myself. I hate eggnog, but I LOVE this dessert.

Would you like to know how to make it?

I make a semi-homemade version of this. If I knew how to make Gingerbread cake from scratch I might, but boxed Gingerbread cake mixes are highly prevalent this time of year and Trader Joe’s Gingerbread cake mix is perfect. So why mess with perfection?

You will need:

1 box of Gingerbread cake mix by the manufacturer of your choice. (I choose Trader Joe’s)

(the eggs, oil, milk and or water required by your cake mix, TJ’s requires 1 egg, 1/3 of a cup of oil (I use Canola) and 3/4 Cup of water I believe)

1 5.1 ounce box of instant Vanilla Pudding

1 quart of whole fat Eggnog (If you use low fat eggnog, you will have loose pudding, and that just sounds wrong somehow.)

1 quart of heavy whipping cream (yep, we are making our own whipped cream!)

1/4 cup of sugar

2 tsp of the extract of your choice (I use vanilla. You could skip the extract and use brandy if you are feeling saucy. I don’t have brandy, but I did have some Jack Daniels lying around… it made yummy whipped cream too)

First off make your Gingerbread cake according to the manufacturer’s instructions.Ā  Let it cool completely, because you don’t want your pudding or whipped creamy to go wonky. There is nothing worse than wonky dairy products! (Now would be a good time to stash your stand mixer bowl (or whatever bowl you are going to whip your cream in) in the freezer for ease in cream whipping later.)

Then, in a bowl with some space to stir, pour in 3 cups of the egg nog. (I use the Pampered Chef 8 cup measuring cup. That thing is the best!) Then pour the packing of pudding mix into the egg nog and whisk for about 2 minutes. I also at this point, sprinkle in some extra nutmeg to make the pudding extra egg-noggy. (That’s a word, right?) Refrigerate until your Gingerbread cake is cool enough to assemble the trifle. (You will have about 1 cup of eggnog leftover. You do with that whatever you want, I am not telling a soul. No one else knows it’s whole fat, right?)

Now that your Gingerbread is cool and your eggnog pudding is set, we make the whipped cream.

Pour the whole two cups of heavy cream into the bowl of your stand mixer (which you have just removed from the freezer), and mix in the sugar and flavoring of your choice. Whip that cream into submission! And by submission we mean until stiff peaks form.

Now we are ready to assemble!

Cut or break your cake in half. Then crumble the gingerbread into bite size pieces. Layer them on the bottom of the trifle bowl. (My favorite trifle bowl is my Pampered Chef one. This recipe is the perfect size to fit in that bowl by the way.)

Next, layer 1/2 of the egg nog pudding on top of the Gingerbread.

Then, spread half of your whipped cream on top of the pudding.

Then repeat with the three layers with your remaining ingredients.Ā  If you are feeling fancy, you can pipe your top layer of whipped cream on the trifle. Since I normally travel with this dessert, and put a lid on it, I just spread a nice thick layer on top and then sprinkle with some chopped craisins and crumbled Gingerbread cookies if I have any laying around.

Refrigerate for at least 6 hours before serving, but honestly, over night is better. šŸ™‚

I just submitted this to allrecipes for publication, so if you have an account and want to add this recipe to your recipe box there, here is the link. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

